Top 10 Cyber Security Certifications for 2023

By Aarav Goel 01-May-2023
Top 10 Cyber Security Certifications for 2023
The entire world is moving through a digital existence as individuals and organizations rely more on virtual presence than ever. With so much information, private data and monetary transactions done digitally, it is easy to say that the era has paved way for new age criminals who are known as hackers.
They no longer rob banks but hack into servers to steal user data, photos, bank passwords and bring down organizations by shutting down their servers. The threat is about to increase which demands trained and expert cyber security agents on the job. If you are looking for a credible and long-lasting career, it is time to know the best cyber security certifications for 2023 and make your choice.
cyber security course will help a programmer understand and fix vulnerabilities in a system, release security patches in time and keep the software architecture safe which in turn helps a company sustain in this highly competitive environment. Employers show increased interest in hiring certified candidates leading to better job prospective and package. One way to stay ahead of the game is to obtain a cyber security certification. In this article, we will discuss the popular cyber security certifications that professionals can obtain.

List of Top 10 Cyber Security Certifications in 2023

  1. CISSP Certification – Certified Information Systems Security Professional
  2. Certified Cloud Security Professional – CCSP
  3. Certified Information Systems Auditor – CISA
  4. Certified Information Security Manager (CISM)
  5. Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control (CRISC)
  6. Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH)
  7. EC-Council Certified Security Analyst (ECSA)
  8. Computer Hacking Forensic Investigator (CHFI)
  9. GIAC Penetration Tester (GPEN)
  10. GIAC Security Essentials Certification (GSEC)

1- CISSP Certification - Certified Information Systems Security Professional

The CISSP certification is considered the best cyber security certifications that covers a wide range of security related topics including risk management, security operations and transfer the necessary knowledge to the learner so that they can provide valuable technical advice to an organization. The certification is valid for a limited period of 3 years after which you have to take a test to acquire the necessary points to validate your certificate.

2- Certified Cloud Security Professional – CCSP

Another cyber security certifications name is self-explanatory. Be it saving photos to the cloud, files on Google or Microsoft drive, backups are always done on the cloud and a CCSP engineer helps secure the cloud architecture. The certification is accredited by the ISC and it was created by collaborating with Cloud Security Alliance. With all the services being cloud based these days, you can establish a very strong career by specializing in cloud based security solutions.

3- Certified Information Systems Auditor – CISA

Being an auditor in the world of information security is a unique job role and in order to appropriately boost your career choice, the CISA certification provides five different specialization areas from which you can make your choice. This cyber security course includes,
  • Auditing information systems
  • Management of IT
  • Acquiring information systems, development and implementation
  • IT operations, maintenance and support
  • Protection of information assets

4- Certified Information Security Manager (CISM)

Similar to many other security certifications, CISM certifications is recognized globally and is considered the standard for every professional to acquire in order to gain a valuable job prospect. The certificate is accredited by the ISACA. The manager is responsible for establishing a connection between Information Security and Management. They assist in governing the security, risk management, program development, deployment and management providing comprehensive services.

5- Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control (CRISC)

The CRISC is responsible for identifying risk in the IT environment and advice organizations on making investments. They will assess, find long-term solutions and suggestions before any company makes an investment in the particular sector. The certification is accredited by the ISACA and a range of topics are covered in the studies including:
  • Risk identification in Information Technology
  • Risk Assessment
  • Response and Mitigation
  • Risk Control, Monitoring and Reporting
The candidates can choose to specialize in one of the topics and become an expert to gain better job roles.

6- Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH)

The name says it all because ethical hackers are talented people who belong to the white-collar category and are the first line of defense against hacking attempts. The role requires immense talent and a certified course will help you understand the nuances of hacking to identify vulnerabilities so that they can be reported in time. A CEH certification makes an ethical hacker aware of hacking practices to enable them to find patterns to safeguard their own organization against such attempts. CEHs are responsible for vulnerability assessment, enumeration, reconnaissance and similar activities.

7- EC-Council Certified Security Analyst (ECSA)

Previously, ECSA was known as the Licensed Penetration Tester which has now been renamed for various reasons. The professional is in charge of testing the security and vulnerability level of a software architecture through various penetration techniques. The interactive five-day security certification program teaches to look for loopholes in a system and how to use that knowledge in the practical world to ensure an organization’s network is perfectly secure.

8- Computer Hacking Forensic Investigator (CHFI)

With so many illegal hacking attempts and hackers exploiting a company’s security system, the need of a forensic investigator on the scene has become inevitable. It helps companies identify the criminal and the techniques used by them. CHFI certified professionals will help do forensic in hacking attempts and virus attacks. The reports will be used to set up a stronger security system, identify a virus’s pattern and to find the culprit behind the attack.

9- GIAC Penetration Tester (GPEN)

GPEN is a short-term certification course which can be acquired only by professionals who have hands-on experience in the real world and are capable of understanding new security threats quickly. They are trained in ethical hacking, penetration testing, vulnerability assessment and others areas. The candidate will also be elaborated on the legal issues they might face when doing penetration testing against other companies or individuals in order to safeguard their own organization.

10- GIAC Security Essentials Certification (GSEC)

GIAC is a popular organization which provides various levels of security certifications and the GSEC is an intermediate certification which when acquired by security professionals can pave way for a long and successful career. The advantage of doing a program by GIAC is that they don’t provide any specific study materials but rather rely on the hands-on experience of a security professional and test their skills. You can choose to take it up as a prelude before attempting other  security certification courses . The GSEC certificate is valid for four years which is a considerable amount of time and can be renewed after that.