Learning Path For Your Career In EC-Council Courses

By Avni Singh 22-Jul-2022
Learning Path For Your Career In EC-Council Courses

EC-Council Certifications Overview

The globally recognized EC-Council penetration and ethical hacking related certifications are milestones that one can achieve in the path of a successful IT security career. The reputed International Council of Electronic Commerce Consultants (or EC-Council as it popularly called), has its headquarters in New Mexico. The professional organization offers education related to IT and information security, online training of earning these certifications and the certifications themselves.

EC-Council offers the CEH (Certified ethical Hacker) and LPT (Licensed Penetration Tester) courses and certifications that provide for a preferred resume that stand apart from the rest. While some EC certifications can be earned by passing the tests alone, others require you to have experience.

 Enquire Now 

EC-Council Entry-Level Certifications

For those who wish to get an entry into the lucrative IT security career, the CSCU or the Certified Secure Computer User EC-Council certification serves the purpose. Next in line is the ECSS or the Certified Security Specialist certificate. Then comes the major certification by the name CEH or Certified Ethical Hacker certification. This certification is the foundation on which you can build a successful IT career, and is recognized as one of the fundamental certifications in IT security throughout the world. This certification, as the name suggests, is for those who wish to have a career in ethical hacking. A candidate can next attain the certification of ECSA or EC-Council Certified Security Analyst, and lastly LPT or Licensed Penetration Tester. Hence a career in IT security can be broken into the following stages,

  • Fundamental

  • Intermediate

  • Advanced Specialist

  • CSCU or Certified Security Computer User

CSCU or the Certified Secure Computer User

CSCU is the first certification for those who wish to learn how to protect the information sheets. Those who gain the CCSU certification successfully can secure the operating systems, identify the different theft tactics used by the hackers, recognize the elements of social engineering, and can do tasks like data encryption and use tools like antivirus of protecting a system. Other than these, the CCSU certification holders can also perform disaster recovery and data backup, use and apply the appropriate internet security techniques, secure the various network connections, do online transactions, and also work towards mobile devices and emails.

The fundamental certification can be used to climb up the ladder of the EC-Council security path and can be earned through one single exam. Apart from this, the EC-Council also has the FNS or Network Security, FIS or the Information Security, FCF or the Computer Forensics, and the FSP or the Secure Programming certifications to offer.

ALSO READ: 5 Reasons to go for CEH Training

CND or the Certified Network Defender

NICE or the National Initiative on Cybersecurity Education created the framework of this certification, and NIST or the National Initiative on Cybersecurity Education also contributed towards its drafting. The CND certification holders are good at cryptography, encryption, e-mail security, log analysis, web and applications security, firewalls, detection of hacks and intrusions and their prevention, detection of threats to a network, OS and hardware hardening and troubleshooting, among other aspects of IT security.

Certified Ethical Hacker or CEH

The ethical hacker who holds the CEH certification or Certified Ethical Hacker credential can think as a hacker. He is well versed in using the web applications, wireless and wired networks, mobile platforms and web servers, Trojan threat, SQL injections and other kinds of threats and issues that relate to IT and networks. The IT professional can also perform the penetration tests easily. The certification can be earned through one single exam.

After getting the certification, you can get jobs like IT security specialist, security administrator, network security specialist, ethical hacker, penetration tester, IT auditor, security specialist and the like.

ECSA or the EC-Council Certified Security Analyst

After passing out the  ECSA certification , one can plan and implement various penetration tests and can analyse and scrutinize the different outcomes.  For achieving the certification, one must appear for a written exam and pass it. He or she should also pass a performance-based exam that tests the skills of the candidate. The person also needs to submit a report towards passing the performance test successfully. One can opt for the EC council training for completing the certification successfully.

Post ECSA certification, you can get jobs like security analyst, information security analyst, security engineer, senior security consultant and IT security manager among others. The ethical hacking course can also be joined online.

LPT or the Licensed Penetration Tester

LPT or the Licensed Penetration Tester is the last and the Master level IT security certification offered by the EC-Council. LPT professionals are familiar with the different organizational and regulatory compliance frameworks, and are also expert at the penetration testing. Those who possess the NPT certification, have 2 years of relevant experience in penetration testing or possess some other kind of recognized certification can enrol themselves for the program. LPT helps you attain highest ranks in jobs related to IT security and ethical, and the best of salary and perks.

EC council in India operates through its offices and centres, which are accredited and certified for the purpose. You can reach the centres to know more about the certifications (see the website of the council for more information).

 Talk to Our Counselor Today 

Associated Course

32 Hours
Avni Singh

Avni Singh has a PhD in Machine Learning and is an Artificial Intelligence developer, researcher, practitioner, and educator as well as an Open Source Software developer, with over 7 years in the industry.